Agreement of EU Independent Fiscal Institutions

We, the undersigned heads of European Union independent fiscal institutions (EU IFIs), on behalf of our national institutions, agree on the establishment of a Network of EU Independent Fiscal Institutions.

EU IFIs are independent oversight bodies responsible for the monitoring of fiscal performance in our respective Member States. Independence, statutory as well as perceived, vis-à-vis the national authorities as well as EU institutions is central to our existence. The comparative advantage of EU IFIs lies in our clearly specified mandates, in the understanding of national economies and public finances, and close familiarity with domestic challenges and risks. Our independence, legitimacy and expertise in the eyes of the domestic public and national authorities are the foundations of the contribution we make to the effective functioning of our national fiscal frameworks and the EU fiscal framework.

The Network is a voluntary and inclusive institution open to all independent fiscal oversight bodies operating in the EU. It provides a platform to exchange views, expertise and pool resources in areas of common concern.

The Network appoints José Luis Escrivá, Chair of the Spanish Independent Authority for Fiscal Responsibility, to serve as the Chair for an initial term of two years. He works closely with Ľudovít Ódor, member of the Slovak Council for Budget Responsibility, his Deputy, appointed for a term of the same length. Their main responsibility is to represent the common interests of the members of the Network to external stakeholders, inter alia on matters pertaining to the EU fiscal framework.

Their work in this regard receives legitimacy from a Committee for EU Affairs of the Network. The Committee adopts positions on issues concerning relations with EU institutions, including on the EU fiscal framework. Membership in the Committee, as in the Network, is voluntary and open to any EU IFI. The Committee decides, as a rule, by consensus of participating IFIs. Administrative and technical support to the Committee is provided by the Secretariat, supplied as a voluntary contribution by selected EU IFIs.

Bratislava, 11th September 2015

Austrian Fiscal Advisory

Bernhard Felderer

Council - Fiskalraat

President

Cyprus Fiscal Council

Demetris Georgiades

Chairman

Danish Economic Council John Smidt

Head of the Secretariat

Estonian Fiscal Council Raul Eamets

Chairman

National Audit Office,

Finland

Heidi Silvennoinen

Executive Director for Fiscal Policy Evaluation

Haut Conseil des Finances

Publiques, France

François Monier Rapporteur général

Independent Advisory Board

to the Stability Council,

Germany

Eckhard Janeba

Chairman

Parliamentary Budget Office,

Greece

Panagiotis Liargovas

Co-ordinator

Hellenic Fiscal Council Panagiotis Korliras

President

Hungarian Fiscal Council Árpád Kovács

Chairman

Irish Fiscal Advisory Council

(IFAC)

John McHale Council Member

Parliamentary Budget Office,

Italy

Giuseppe Pisauro

President

Latvian Fiscal Discipline Council

Janis Platais Chairman

Lithuanian National Audit Office

Arūnas Dulkys Auditor General Conseil National des Finances Publiques, Luxembourg Romain Bausch Chairman

Malta Fiscal Advisory Council

Rene Saliba Chairman

CPB Netherlands Bureau for Economic Policy Analysis, The Netherlands Laura van Geest Director

Rad van Staat, The Netherlands

Piet Hein Donner Vice-President

Portuguese Public Finance Council

Teodora Cardoso
President of the Board

Council for Budget Responsibility, Slovakia Ivan Šramko Chairman

Independent Authority for Fiscal Responsibility (AIReF), Spain José Luis Escrivá President

Swedish Fiscal Council

John Hassler Chairman

Office for Budget Responsibility, UK

Robert Chote Chairman